The Millennium Trophy

If you are a football fan, you might be aware of the Six Nations Championship involving jaw-biting Rugby matches between the 6 major rugby players of Europe, namely England, France, Wales, Scotland, Italy and Ireland. It would be interesting to note that this was actually a Home Nations Championship that had involved only 4 teams, namely Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England during the late 19th century and early 20th century. What came next was that France joined this championship in 1910, and thereon it came to be known as the Five Nations Championship Trophy. Finally around 4 decades later, Italy also joined as a participant in these matches, and the nomenclature was finally set to the Six Nations Championship.

The Millennium Trophy as mentioned above, is amongst the contending trophies of this Six Nations Championship, and is primarily played between England and Ireland. As of today, England happens to be the current residing champion, having won the trophy several consecutive times in the last two decades.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *